Biology-driven Cancer Drug Development

Share

Lord CJ, Ashworth A. Biology-driven cancer drug development: back to the future. BMC Biol. 2010 Apr 12;8:38. Review. PubMed PMID: 20385032; PubMed Central PMCID: PMC2864096. [Free full text via PubMed.]

For readers of Siddhartha Mukherjee’s excellent book The Emperor of All Maladies who are looking for more on the recent history of cancer research, a good place to start is this article by two investigators at The Institute of Cancer Research in the UK. Lord and Ashworth recap biology-driven drug development leading to tyrosine kinase inhibitors, and describe how our conceptual understanding of cell networks may facilitate new therapeutic advances.