New York Choreographic Institute 10th Anniversary Celebration


New York Choreographic Institute
Tenth Anniversary
Miller Theatre at Columbia University
6 November 2010

Seven world premieres by Jessica Lang, Larry Keigwin, Christopher Wheeldon, Alexei Ratmansky and a select list of new choreographers, produced in collaboration with a winning panel of young composers, created on a dream troupe of dancers led by prima ballerinas Wendy Whelan, Sara Mearns, Ashley Bouder, and Megan Fairchild, and introducing a new generation of knockout artists from the School of American Ballet. Oh, and with a live performance of the scores by the American Contemporary Music Ensemble.

Perhaps the city’s best-kept dance secret. Don’t let anybody know. Can’t wait to see what they do next.

2010 Fall Session
Tale of a Chinese Zodiac
Choreography: Justin Peck
Music: Sufjan Stevens
Year of the Ox, Year of the Tiger, and Year of the Boar from Run Rabbit Run
Dancers: Meaghen Dutton-O’Hara, Angelica Generosa, Alexandra Hughes, Misa Kasamatsu, Emily Kikra, Chloe Sherman, Lindsay Turkel, Austin Bachman, Joseph Gordon, John Poppe, Aaron Sanz, Joshua Thornton, Peter Walker

Choreographer: Darius Barnes
Composer: Kyle Blaha
Dancers: Ashly Isaacs, Lauren Lovette, Erica Pereira, Kristin Segin, Zachary Catazaro, Chase Finlay, Allen Peiffer, Taylor Stanley

Choreographer: Jessica Lang
Composer: Jakub Ciupinski
Simple Music
Dancers: Wendy Whelan, Craig Hall

For Sascha
Choreography: Marco Goecke
Composer: Matthew Fuerst
String Quartet
Dancers: Marika Anderson, Gretchen Smith, Daniel Applebaum, Sean Suozzi

Tribute to Professor Pia Gilbert
Composer: Daniel Ott
An Inflorescence

Choreographer: Larry Keigwin
Dancers: Megan Fairchild, Tiler Peck, Antonio Carmena, Joaquin De Luz, Andrew Veyette

Sara Solo
Choreographer: Christopher Wheeldon
Dancer: Sara Mearns

Choreographer: Alexei Ratmansky
Dancers: Ashley Bouder, Ana Sophia Scheller, David Prottas, Christian Tworzyanski

Music performed by American Contemporary Music Ensemble
Clarice Jensen, Music Director
Rob Moose, violin; Caleb Burhans, violin; Nadia Sirota, violin; Clarice Jensen, cello; Kelli Kathman, flute; Bill Kalinkos, clarinet; Taka Kigawa, piano; Chris Thompson, percussion